Golden Lion: A Novel of Heroes in a Time of War (Heroes in a Time of War: the Courtney)


Golden Lion: A Novel of Heroes in a Time of War (Heroes in a Time of War: the Courtney)

For readers of Game of Thrones, Ken Follett, and Clive Cussler:

an epic adventure spanning land and sea...

time and distance...

courage, revenge, and everything in between.

GOLDEN LION

He saw his father executed in battle. He spent his youth avenging that death. And now Henry 'Hal' Courtney is a man with a ship – and a family – of his own.

But fate has not finished with Hal. On a voyage along the eastern shore of Africa, a powerful enemy abducts his wife, the fearless warrior Judith… and with her, Hal's unborn child. For Hal, a man all too familiar with loss, there is only one way forward: He must track his nemesis across desert and ocean, through the slave markets of Zanzibar and the dangerous waters of the coast, in pursuit of the woman he loves, the child he sired, and the glorious destiny that awaits him.

Bursting with action and suspense, heroism and heartache, this unforgettable novel proves once more that Wilbur Smith is the world's greatest adventure writer.


Details Golden Lion: A Novel of Heroes in a Time of War (Heroes in a Time of War: the Courtney)

Title Golden Lion: A Novel of Heroes in a Time of War (Heroes in a Time of War: the Courtney)
AuthorWilbur Smith
Release Date26th Apr 2016
PublisherWilliam Morrow
ISBN-100062276581
FormatMass Market Paperback
LanguageEnglish
Pages496 pages
Rating

8 reviews on “Golden Lion: A Novel of Heroes in a Time of War (Heroes in a Time of War: the Courtney)

  1. Customer

    I must say I was disappointed by the book. I am a great fan of Wilbur Smith’s books (with the exception of The Quest that I was not able to finish) but this book is not in the same class as his other books (maybe because it was not actually written by Mr. Smith?). Compared to his standard the book is surprisingly actionless, void of suspension and consists mostly of tediously long dialogues. The first half of the book is especially slow and boring, the second half is more action-packed as are some of Smith’s earlier books, but on the whole not much happens in the entire book. I was unable to put some of his previous books down and finished them in a matter of hours but with this one I was actually forcing myself to get to the end….

  2. Peter Daniel

    After having enjoyed all the previous books from the Courtney series, the Golden Lion was a great deception, it doesn’t feel like a book written by Wilbur Smith….

  3. Caroline Schwerin

    Being an avid reader of WS for forty years I can only say that this is not one of his best. A sad disappointment….

  4. John Stewart

    Not up to the normal Wilbur Smith standard….

  5. Jack D.

    This is not a typical Wilbur Smith Novel. The sub-plots throughout the book are very predicatable, and often unrealistic. The story line is pretty good, but in previous Wilbur novels, I would often have to put a piece of paper below where I was reading so I would not skip ahead to see what was going to happen next. I didn’t have that temptation this time. It was easy to put the book down at night at the end of chapters. Did Wilbur rely on the co-author to write too much of the narrative???…

  6. Online

    I’ve read all of Wilbur Smith’s books. Every single one. He is one of my favorite authors. But once again, this book is poor. It feels like his work for the last 10 years has been subpar. I highly recommend the early Courtney series and the Ballyantines, just not this one, or really any from the last 10 years. Its too bad, because his early works are truly great epic novels. This one is not. The Quest was worse, but that’s not saying much. Please read Wilbur’s earlier novels and you’ll love his work. Africa is an excellent setting for conflict, industrialization, racial tension, wars, etc.I also did not appreciate that the publisher subtitled the book, “heros in a time of war”. There is not a war in the book, nor are any of the characters hero’s or heroic really. In fact, the book takes place after a war and the plot is rather silly. The sub-title feels obviously like an attempt to link this book to Wilbur’s prior novels which truly are great war epics. His novels that dea…

  7. Volunteer of America

    As predicted in a previous review, Wilbur Smith – having sold his good name for several million dollars – is now permitting the evisceration of the Courtney series by giving it to his ghost writers. At least this time the “co-author” (though if Smith himself wrote more than the dedication, I’d be surprised) is listed on the cover. Smith sold the rights to his name a couple of years ago, in case you are wondering why his recent books are so bad; you can easily Google this information.This one isn’t quite as badly written as the Those in Peril rubbish, but it’s bad. To be specific: the action is unrealistic and very clumsy, the transitions are risible, the descriptions of nature dull, and the characters themselves mere caricatures. Purporting to fill in the period of time between Birds of Prey and Monsoon, Hal is two-dimensional, Aboli almost a cartoon parody of his former self, and Ms. Nazet speaks like a suburban housewife. Hey; maybe they could hire these guys to write the next Star …

  8. C. Fred Wilcox, MD

    Wilbur Smith has been my favorite author for forty plus years. Now he is systematically destroying his wonderful descriptive authenticity by outsourcing his work. The beauty of his language, the hold he had on his reader was second to none. Now it is so sad to see a book with his name on it that is simply so substandard and is not Wilbur Smith. Pecuniary seduction is very common these days; I am saddened that it has happened to one of the world’s greatest authors. C Fred Wilcox, MD…

Write a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Name *
Your Rating